The answer for now still seems to be yes, but it appears that in this case maybe the source is what got officials to pay closer attention to the tip--Champions Tour golfer David Eger.
Here is an excerpt from the SI interview with Eger:
“I could see there was a divot — not a divot, a divot hole — when he played the shot the second time that was not there the first time. I played it again and again. I could see that the fairway was spotless the first time he played the shot and there was that divot hole, maybe three or four feet in front of where he played after the drop.”From that point he called his friend Mickey Bradley, a rules official at the Masters and the rest is pretty much history.
Hmmm...anyone else wondering why this guy didn't leave well enough alone? Possibly a little miffed that he wasn't playing the Masters? Jealousy perhaps? A little professional courtesy sure wouldn't have hurt him.
Here is the play in question: