Buster Posey did the bulk of the work for the San Francisco Giants in Friday night's 10-1 win over the San Diego Padres with five RBIs, but he did get a little help from the Kung Fu Panda, Pablo Sandoval, who hit an RBI double in the fifth inning.
If the Padres had gotten their way that moment could have become a highlight on blooper reels across the nation thanks to the old Rookie of the Year-hidden ball trick.
For some odd reason Padres outfielder Everth Cabrera decided to hide the ball and tag Sandoval as stepped off the bag. As much as I dig the movie and love the move, I am not sure what is funnier here--the fact that he tried it or that he tried to argue with the umpire when he didn't get the out.
The reason according to the media last night was because Sandoval had called time. Apparently once the pitcher stepped onto the mound Cabrera had to send the ball back to the mound and couldn't just tag Sandoval.
I'm not as up on MLB rules so if anyone knows the letter of the law feel free to share it in the comments.